top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureterrycornall

Petticoats in a twist on The Crinoline

Updated: Mar 17, 2022

After missing out on any views from Mt Ligar during the McMillans Track trip, I decided that when I went back to retrieve the drop-barrels from that trip, I would solo Mt Ligar and see what all the fuss should have been about.



I waited for good weather, (not too long, I didn't want all the dirty clothing in the drop-barrels to spawn some new life-forms) and then headed out for Licola and beyond. Down to Volkswagen campsite to get the barrels and then back to Breakfast Creek where I left the car. I headed up to camp overnight on Mt Ligar in hot conditions, making sure I carried water because there wasn't likely to be any near the summit and I didn't want to have to go all the way to the Long Hill campsite to get it. I figured 3 liters would be enough for drinkies for two days plus dinner and breakfast...

Good water was had at Breakfast Creek, but go upstream a ways because there's a toilet-less campsite here and some campers will crap anywhere!
The '6 hours return' seems about right for a day trip. I did it slightly faster, about 3 hours up and 2 down (including stopping to play with spiders).

The track up was easy and clear, though I did come across this fork in the path that wasn't on my map...



After a few hours, I got to where McMillans track crosses the track that continues up to Mt Ligar. Slight feeling of Deja Vu, though it had been raining last time I was there.



After a rest, I continued and came out on a false summit, to see that there was plenty left to go yet. Some boulders made an almost level 'road' for a few tens of meters.


Then there was a bit of scrambling up between bands of rock. Nothing too terrible, but it did require a head for heights and strength to pull oneself (and one's pack) up some steps.


Until finally I arrived at the summit, which had a lovely little copse of trees.


It would have made a great campsite, but I wanted to push on over the summit to get to one of the clear spots I'd seen previously, hoping to get to somewhere I could do some astrophotography.

So I went on over the other side, down past a rock I'd swear I'd seen before. (However, when I checked this photo against photos from McMillans Track blog, I could see they were different). It's a bit of a trap, trying to navigate by 'Go down by the rock that looks a bit like a wave' when quite a few rocks look like waves... The decomposed sandstone was very gravelly and slippery underfoot in places. I made good use of vegetable handholds.

It was more level than it looks.

Anyway, with only a little bit of pathfinding difficulty, I got to where I wanted to be and put up camp with plenty of time for some scenic photography.

Looking toward Mt Skene. Rumpff's flat and Lazarini's spur campsites from the McMillans Track hike are in there somewhere


Just a bloke and his rock band...

Looking towards Long Hill. I wonder if that cliff face above the creek would have a waterfall in the rain?

This video puts me and my little tent into perspective against the mountaintop.


That night, I tried to shoot some stars, but the fog rolled in. I did get this great shot of the moon-lit fog filling the valley during one short clear interval at zero-dark-ugly in the morning. It was freezing. Note to self: bring gloves next time...

I froze my fingers getting this. I hope you appreciate it. Moon looks a bit gibbous there. Those two bright stars might be Pollux and Castor in Gemini.

Next morning, after a late breakfast...

Please Sir, may I have some more?


I followed some cunningly hidden trail-sign to the way down...

Would you believe I didn't see this on the way in?


Found a narrow ridge to traverse... big drops on either side but not very scary...


had a run-in with an old friend...

and made my way back to the car. Had run short on water so went and guzzled a liter from the creek. Upstream of the campsite...


BTW, if you are wondering about the strange-looking cap I'm wearing, it's got a specially modified bi-stable brim to allow it to fold up (and stay up) so when I'm gunning through the bush I can see branches and things that would otherwise knock me on the head. A bit like the idea of a cycling cap with a brim that folds back enabling the rider to see more without lifting his head all the time. Makes me look like a pillock, but allows me to remain a conscious one without head-injuries.

This was a great trip and one I'd recommend to anyone fit enough to do it. It does take some care at the 3 or 4 places where you need to do a few meters of rock scrambling. Also takes a bit of pathfinding to get up and down between the rock bands, but persevere and don't be afraid to backtrack if you get to a point that just looks too hard or exposed. Move around the band to find a better way. Do remember to take enough water...


17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page